Illinois-Iowa Local Section

Illinois-Iowa Section of the American Chemical Society.

American Association of Chemistry Teachers

The IL-IA ACS section would like to encourage local high school chemistry teachers to join the newly formed American Association of Chemistry Teachers (AACT).  For further information on the AACT visit

The section has sponsored membership for the following teachers:

Shawn Buettner, Rivermont Collegiate

Jennifer Cook Gregory, Moline High School 

Kevin Tippet, North Scott High School


If you are a high school chemistry teacher teaching within the IL-IA section and are interested in joining the AACT please contact Past Chair Kelly Gierlus at to see if a sponsorship is available.